Nominations for the 2022 SIM Chapter Leader Awards are now being accepted through March 10, 2023!

SIM is celebrating eleven years of recognizing members who contribute to the growth, advancement and excellence of their local chapter, and we hope that you will nominate a deserving member to help keep this important tradition alive! If you know a member who went above and beyond to further their chapter in 2022, please step up and nominate them for this prestigious national award.

Nominate an Outstanding Member Today!

Thank you for your dedication, leadership and support in recognizing our strongest SIM contributors!

If you would like to learn more about the Leader of the Year award program, please contact Leader of the Year Co-Chairs Heidi Holdener, SIM Wisconsin, or Pradeep Kumar, SIM Portland by emailing

About the Chapter Leader Awards

The Chapter Leader Awards provide a means for SIM to recognize chapter leader contributions to the growth, advancement, and excellence of SIM at the local level in 2022.                

Individuals may nominate themselves or another deserving candidate within SIM. Anyone can submit a nomination. The selection committee will be evaluating all nominees and select the most qualified candidates, regardless of chapter size in each of the new categories below.
Categories - NEW for 2022!
  • Chapter Innovator of the Year
    The Chapter Innovator of the Year award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exceptional creativity and innovation in advancing the chapter's goals and mission. The award showcases innovative ideas and practices, providing valuable insights and best practices for other chapters to learn from and apply in their own operations. Ultimately, the Chapter Innovator of the Year award aims to acknowledge and promote innovation, creativity, and excellence within both the chapter and the broader organization or community.

  • Chapter Champion of the Year
    Chapter Champion of the Year award recognizes an individual who has gone above and beyond to raise awareness of the chapter by recruiting new members, improving brand awareness through marketing and social media, organizing successful events, providing mentorship or support to other members, or advocating for the chapter in the community.

  • Chapter Community Impact Award
    The Chapter Community Impact Award acknowledges chapter leaders who have made notable positive contributions to the community through philanthropic work, volunteerism, community involvement, or any other valuable service. This award recognizes their outstanding achievements and serves as an inspiration for others to emulate. It honors individuals who have positively impacted both the chapter and the wider community.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    A Chapter Lifetime Achievement award is given to recognize and honor an individual's significant and outstanding contributions, typically over a long period of time. This award acknowledges the recipient's extraordinary dedication and commitment to the organization and its goals, and their lasting impact on the chapter's success and growth. The award serves as a way to acknowledge the individual's exceptional leadership, mentorship, and volunteerism within the chapter, and to inspire other members to follow in their footsteps.

Results of the 2021 SIM Leader of the Year Award

SIM is celebrating ten years of recognizing members who contribute to the growth, advancement and excellence of their local chapter. This year, five recipients were chosen by a panel of seven judges and were formally recognized alongside all 15 nominees last week at a Virtual Awards Ceremony for SIM Chapter Leaders.

Given the strength of the nominees, the judges felt it especially difficult to choose the award recipients, but in a carefully governed and objective scoring process, five finalists stood out. This year’s SIM Chapter Leaders of the Year are:

Raj Kurup, Chapter Innovator Award, SIM Fairfield/Westchester
Nellson Burns, Chapter Leader Award, SIM DFW
Stephen Landry, Chapter Leader Award, SIM New Jersey 
Amanda Millett, Chapter Leader Award, SIM Boston
Dan Webber, Chapter Leader Award, SIM Atlanta

We are grateful to all 15 nominees who individually and collectively exemplify a commitment to building their local communities and living SIM’s brand “where IT leaders connect,” especially during the pandemic. We also want to thank the seven judges representing a cross-section of the country: 

Pradeep Kumar, Co-Chair, Portland, 2016 LOTY
Heidi holder, Co-Chair, Wisconsin
Helen Norris, Southern California
Robert Rouse, St. Louis, 2013 LOTY
Elizabeth Decker, South Florida, 2020 LOTY
Matt Nerney, Boston, 2020 LOTY
Robert Jones, Charlotte, 2020 LOTY

2021 SIM Chapter Leader of the Year Nominees: 

Lisa Schurch, Minnesota
Eric Gorham, St. Louis
Luis Beaumier, Tampa Bay
Bill Waas, Tampa Bay
Jesse Taylor, Las Vegas
Larry Di Gioia, Central Florida
Jen Boyer, South Florida
James Parks, Capital Area
Tom Keuten, Detroit
Raj Kurup, Fairfield Westchester
Nellson Burns, DFW
Amanda Millett, Boston
Stephen Landry, New Jersey

Congratulations to the 2021 SIM Leaders of the Year!